Following our most successful round of nominations to date, we are delighted to announce the shortlist for the seventh annual Ceva Animal Welfare Awards.

Spanning seven categories, the shortlist for each award was decided following a day of deliberations by our independent panel of esteemed judges, chaired by retired veterinary surgeon, Chris Laurence MBE MRCVS, who prior to his retirement worked at the leading animal welfare charities, Dogs Trust and RSPCA. 

The awards celebrate the achievements of remarkable people from the farming, veterinary and charity industries, who go beyond the call of duty to better the lives of animals around the world. Nominations were submitted by friends, family, clients and colleagues. 

All finalists will be invited to attend the glitzy award ceremony in Birmingham, on Wednesday 5th April where the winner of each award will be announced. 

The shortlist for the 2017 Ceva Animal Welfare Awards is as follows: 

Chris Laurence Vet of the Year Award in association with Veterinary Times

  • Andrew Gardiner from Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies
  • Richard Saunders from the Rabbit Welfare Association and Fund
  • Jenny Stavisky from the University of Nottingham

Welfare Nurse of the Year Award in association with VN Times

  • Sarah Dawson from Vets4Pets in Walton Vale, Liverpool
  • Samantha Shand from Quarrington Veterinary Surgery in Sleaford
  • Ellisah Raven from Bransby Horses in Lincoln

Charity Professional of the Year Award (UK & International) – in association with PDSA

  • Lesley Winton, founder of the Winton Foundation for the Welfare of Bears & Fostering Compassion
  • Dr Stephen Blakeway, director of international operations at The Donkey Sanctuary
  • Ali Taylor, head of canine behaviour and training at Battersea Dogs & Cats Home

 Charity Team of the Year Award (UK & International) - in association with Your Cat and Your Dog magazines

  • Mission Rabies
  • Michelson Found Animals Foundation
  • Dogstar Foundation, Sri Lanka

 Volunteer of the Year Welfare Award (UK & International) – in association with Blue Cross

  • Maureen Smith from the National Animal Welfare Trust in Berkshire
  • Annie Blumenfeld from Wags 4 Hope, USA
  • Dean Bland from Well Equine in Yorkshire

 Farm Animal Welfare Award (UK & International) – in association with R.A.B.I and NADIS

  • Dr Joseph O Othieno, a freelance veterinary journalist from Kenya
  • Katrine Bazeley, a retired veterinary surgeon from Dorset
  • Graham Duncanson, a retired veterinary surgeon from Norfolk

 Special Recognition Award for 2017 - GSPCA, Guernsey

 International Cat Care Welfare Award – in association with Agria Pet Insurance

International Cat Care will be choosing the winner of this award from its extensive membership base.  The winner will be announced at the awards’ ceremony

Last update: 15/03/2017

Back to top